August 4, 2007

  • Smyth I

    Introduction to Alexander Smyth's book
    Written in 1864

         In bringing this book before the public, I feel it to be my duty to give some explanation of certain things, which, forming a concatenation of cause and effect, gave origin to it.  The matters I allude to are in relation to my own humble self, which, however, disagreeable to me, I am constrained to do in some respects.

         I am a man of humble circumstances, and have always been so, one who has always labored for his daily bread.  My education has not been received from academy or college; nor have I had the assistance of a tutor excepting in my childhood. I was taught to read the New Testament with a Sunday-school proficiency, so that as far as I have any leaning, I am indebted for it to my own perseverance. Lately, I find that the impulses of my nature have been modified and guarded by some spiritual friends, of whose influence over me I knew nothing at the time.

         I was of a nervous, sanguine temperament, ardent, hopeful and of blissful imagination.  I left my native home when a youth with a resolution to see and enjoy the world; thanks to the care of my kind mother, my morals were good; I had little to gain in that respect, but a great deal to lose. I wandered from place to place, seeking pleasures and information, during many years.  I partook of all things that the world presented, even to some of its vices, and in the course of my wanderings and adventures, I received a blight to my affections; I then became unhappy for a time. 

    Then, as a counteractor to sorrow, I contracted an evil habit. This state of things continued for a time as I continued to wander from place to place. Feeling myself an unhappy creature whose affections and blissful hopes were nipped in the bud; whose noble aspirations were checked, whose desire of doing what seemed to me right, was blasted, and whose self-respect was almost gone.

         About this time, when I was in my most distressed condition, I was aroused from my despair, torpor and lack of energy, by a feeling within me of some extraordinary experiences, so astonishing and astounding to me, that it absorbed the whole powers of my mind by day and night. My sorrows were forgotten. My evil habit was neglected; then like Samson of old, I began to shake myself to see where my strength lay and I said to myself, what is it?  What is going to happen?  I reasoned with myself, calling up my scanty amount of philosophy, but could not account for the phenomena.  I went to several doctors, and revealed to them what I had experienced, from whom I received no satisfactory information; but they hinted that my experiences were nothing more than imaginings or hallucinations, and afterward, I heard it whispered about that I was crazy.
     
         After this I left the neighborhood, resolving to keep the subject hereafter locked within myself, and endeavor, by studying the philosophy of nature, to find if possible, the true cause of the phenomena within me. With this resolution I conformed; passing my days in hard work, and leisure times in study; in the mean time, the phenomena occurring to me frequently, how often I can not say, I overcame my evil habit.My life was now much more agreeable.  I was industrious and temperate; yet my old sorrow would now and then oppress me. 

    After a time, the phenomena I have alluded to, entirely left me; but others not less wonderful and more agreeable, succeeded them, and continued with me for a great length of time.  The latter were a source of great gratification to me; yet I was ever anxious to discover the cause, however, all my researches were in vain.  I wished to impart to my neighbors these mysterious occurrences; but I was afraid to do so from fear of the results, so I kept them to myself until the year 1843, when I married.

    Then the phenomena ceased altogether and did not occur until the year 1858, when I was again visited by them in the usual manner.  Subsequently the subject of Spiritualism attracted my notice, then I proceeded to investigate its merits.  After a few months investigation of the subject, an idea occurred to me that I would inquire of Andrew J. Davis, the Clairvoyant, concerning the mysterious occurrences pertaining to me. Accordingly I wrote him a letter, giving a description of my experiences, which was as follows:

    PHILADELPHIA., APRIL 10TH, 1860.  Mr. Davis, Dear Sir:
         Knowing you to be a man of leaning, especially in spiritual and psychological subjects, I take the liberty to address you on a matter of great importance, to me at least, and I hope when you shall have read this letter, that you will give me your serious opinion upon it.

         For Several years I have been the subject of a series of most extraordinary and mysterious internal experiences or developments; I can not say sensations, for I am well aware that what I have undergone did not come through the medium of my five senses.  I am not an illiterate man; yet with all my philosophy I am unable to account for them.  I have read many medical works, but do not find a case recorded similar to mine.  I have conversed with many medical men; but could gain no opinion from them, other than that it was " Hallucination." I have also converse with non-professional persons: the result was, they considered me to be crazy.

         Since then, I have kept the subject locked up within myself, as I am not desirous of being considered either foolish or crazy.  I will now relate the particulars to, you that you may judge:
     
         About, twenty years ago, when I was thirty years of age, I began to notice certain extraordinary occurrences within my person. Sometimes I saw, or inwardly perceived, the main branches of my nervous system burst forth suddenly into beautiful lights of blue and yellow; sometimes down my side, sometimes along my arms, very often on one side of my face or across my brows. These appearances were as quick as a flash of lightning; during which, I perceived the interior of the tubes through which the light passed.

         Frequently when in my bed and about falling to sleep, a noise, sudden and powerful would be heard in my head like the report of a pistol, or the twanging of a large wire. Then a flash of light would pass over the exterior part of the brain, when I could distinctly see the two hemispheres thereof.  At times, an explosion would take place at the back part of my head; then I could perceive the medulla oblongata, and the ramifications of the cerebellum faintly illuminated. 

    But the most beautiful and extraordinary of all the instances I experienced but once, it was as follows: One day I was lying on my back dozing, when my slumbers were interrupted by, as I thought, a large fly, which seemed to descend and buzz just between my eyes.  Several times I was thus disturbed, when at last I arose, determined to destroy the intruder if I could catch it.  I searched about, but could find nothing of the kind. 

         Then, thinking that something else might be the cause, I returned to my previous position, resolving to keep on the watch.  As thus I lay for some minutes, without moving a muscle, my eyelids slightly opening, I perceived two yellow luminous specks; one at the inner, and the other at the outer angle of the eye, just beneath the edge of the eyelid. These specks were moving toward each other; the one at the outer angle moving the faster. At length they came in contact, when an explosion like the firing of a pistol took place, passing through my brain; causing every particle of substance to tremble. Then a beautiful yellow and blue light passed through my eyeballs, along the optical tubes up to the brain where I lost it.  During its passage, I saw distinctly the crystalline lens, the retina and the interior of the optical tube.

         These extraordinary occurrences, with the exception of the last, happened frequently to me for several years.  At length they ceased.  For three or four years, I felt like an ordinary man; but soon after this a new development took place within me, of a more pleasing nature, though not less extraordinary. I have never studied music, therefore I know not the names of the different parts, and shall find it difficult to explain to you what I wish; for my internal experience this time, consisted of vocal and instrumental music

         At this period of my life, I lived in the country, being the greater part of my time entirely alone.  It seemed to me, though I was sensible that it could not be so, that there was an instrument of music, situated in the interior part of my brain.  It performed entire pieces without fault; and when it had finished an air, there was a pause for, a few seconds, then it would recommence with the same or another.  It mattered not how I was engaged, nothing I could do would stop it; until it had finished its piece of music, It would continue without pausing. I resorted to various means to stop it. I worked hard, trying to think of nothing but my work. I visited my neighbors to pass the time in social chat. I took long walks and runs; but all in vain. 

    The music continued its sweet notes, performing whole pieces over and over in the most harmonious style; the tunes resembling those of a small metallic organ or music box.  This continued about a year, when it was succeeded by the music of voices; the latter, unlike the former, seemed to take place externally to me, and to be some distance above me in the air. I could distinguish three voices performing various pieces, sacred and otherwise, in succession, with great precision and harmony. 

    Some of the airs were familiar and some were not; but all the tunes were the richest kind.  I will observe in this place that some of the pieces performed, both vocal and instrumental, I had learned many years before, but had forgotten them; while others, which I but partially remembered, my mysterious powers performed without fault. At length the instrumental music died away, leaving me to be entertained by the vocal music alone. The latter remaining with me three years, commencing as soon as I awoke in the morning, and continuing with but little intermission through the day, and the last moment of my wakefulness at night.

          Perhaps you may think there was some disturbance or disease either in my body or mind, but I assure you there was not; I had perfect health of body, was entirely sober and rational, and in a happy mood of mind, generally, though a poor man.

        Frequently have I thought, when walking along the country road, listening to my musical powers, how pleasing it would be if I could believe in the existence of Good Spirits!  I could then have reason to think that I had found favor with some of them, which might be hovering above and around me, endeavoring to cheer me with their songs.  At that time I did not believe in the Spirit World, though since, I have felt inclined to admit the rationality of the doctrine.

    These mysterious visiting have left me for some time past.  They were generally agreeable to me, and would have been more so could I have spoken of them to my neighbors, without fear of being considered crazy
    I have now to relate to you a new phase of their strange workings within me. which has completely astounded me, and for the first time produced an uneasy perplexity.  I have been in the habit, since I have been married, of reading an hour or two after my family had retired for the night; so, it is generally near midnight when I seek my bed.

    One night last week, between ten and eleven o'clock while reading as usual, my attention was withdrawn from my book by the shrill, lively notes of an instrument which sounded to me like the shepherd's pipe of ancient days. It seemed to play a series of a. lively variations and quavers. Like the fluttering butterfly, it was here, there, and everywhere; above and around me, When after about two minutes it ceased, then all was still. I hurried into the yard of the house, looked around, but could discover nobody about at that time of night.

     Returning to my room, the next few moments were passed in awful suspense. This did not last long for hearing two persons discoursing seized my attention. They seemed from their voices, to be of the male sex.  I could not distinguish what they said, as their voices seemed to be too far above me; but I caught the names of several persons who, I knew according to history, had lived many centuries ago.

     Their discourse lasted a few minutes, then it ceased.  There was a dead silence for a few seconds, during which I was rooted to the floor motionless, all the powers of my mind and soul being absorbed in wondering suspense. Again I heard a few notes from the mysterious pipe, and then a voice, powerful and distinct, called me by name. As you may imagine, I was struck mute and motionless with astonishment. With suspended breath I anxiously listened in expectation of hearing more, but nothing followed that night, for I was too much afraid to respond to the call. Since then, I have abandoned my nocturnal readings."

       Such is the substance of the letter I wrote to A. J. Davis, desiring him to give me his opinion and advice upon the strange matter. He published the same in his journal, the "Herald of Progress," for May 12th 1860, and May 19th, he published an article in answer to it.  The important points relating to my communication are as follows:

    “The case of Alexander S--- is not new in the annals of mystery; the introverted action of the mind is possible, but rarely experienced.  Swedenborg's condition was oftentimes not unlike that of Mr. S---, showing the naturalness of such visitations whenever the mind's internal arrangements are propitious. In such experiences, it is absurd to reject the hypothesis of Spiritual instigation.  But it would be equally absurd to suppose that the Spirits were personally present, superintending each metamorphosis of internal action, as many persons are disposed to conclude from the mysterious novelty of the experience.

    In examining the mind's internal mechanism, we get at not only the actions of the organs, but also discern the nature of the action.  Each part of the mind diffuses a particular influence all over the constitution. The influences that have emanated from all the parts constitute sensation, or the lightning of the nervous system. Inasmuch as human beings are organized upon the same principle, as it happens that an influence imparted to another, awakens in that other effects analogous to those felt by the one who imparted it.  Thus a combative person, on his imparting his original influence, will cause another to feel identical sensations.  The same is true of every other organ.

       These facts are familiar to modern psychologists.  They stand in the gateway between heaven and earth, preventing at once too much doubt; for such facts demonstrate the double nature of man, and at the same time, that he is not the cause of all spiritual phenomena.  The automatic hemisphere of mind is quite as marvelous as the counter-hemisphere of voluntary powers, and when truly studied, man becomes as much a wonder before death, as when he returns in the estate of spirit.

       It would seem judging from our correspondent's testimony, that his own spirit carried on the process originally instigated by the invisible intelligence. They had diffused an influence upon his nervous system, which entering into chemical combination with the sensitive elements, they (the spirits) could neither control nor extract from their subject.  It is evident that many spirits have little knowledge of their own abilities to control the influence they cast upon the mediums. 

    The consequence was, what should have been voluntary and under the control of the wishes or will, became instead, automatic and beyond management. The vibrations and concessive sounds, and the instantaneous representations of the nervous system, etc., by means of beautiful lights, were inevitable effects, whenever his own and the foreign influences met, like two tiny thunderclouds of opposite polarity. this vision was with the eyes, but by means of the pervading optical influence; that is to say, the sensitive medium of physical sight was impressed with the internal facts and recurring phenomena. 

    This explanation is intended to cover all cases of this kind; but one thing is remarkable, yet agreeing with our explanation; we refer to the repetitions or recurring character of his experiences, no other facts more clearly illustrate the occult operations of his own mental machinery.  The Spirit Guardian, for example, would start a tune in his memory perhaps impart an influence to the organic center where music is perceived by the mind, then the impressed and propulsed faculties would go forward with the operation.

         We have seen this phenomena many times in persons who were impressed to address an audience, or to write a poem. The Spirit Guardian of the medium would set the machinery in motion, and then retire; whereupon the medium's mind would take up the operation, and continue, as though it were an unthinking automaton. 

    But there is evidence better, the hearing of one's name pronounced by tongues in the air. In this case, the spiritual ear is reached the floors, roofs and leagues of atmosphere vanish from the spaces between the speaker and the listener.  They seem to stand in each other's presence; the whole ocean of human existence is stilled for the moment, and the person addressed by a voice from Heaven, is either paralyzed with fright, or exuberant with gratification.  Such a moment is sublime, because it seems to dissipate all doubt, and to reveal the external future.  Heaven grant that all men may know the truth, and be free."

         After reading Mr. Davis' reply to my communication, I considered myself much enlightened on the subject, much relieved of my timidity. And after some mature reflection, I resolved, that if there was a Spirit wishing to communicate with me, I would avail myself of the opportunity, and with as much firmness as I could assume, I invite the invisible intelligence to further proceedings. Accordingly, the following night, I was seated in my room alone, with writing materials and a book before me.

         The clock struck eleven; I endeavored to read, but it was a vain effort, for I understood not what I read, my mind being absorbed by subjects of greater moment. A thousand thoughts flitted through my mind; some of a hopeful, and some of a doubtful nature, and some fearfully speculative. "Is it possible such things can be?" I asked myself.  "Shall I really hold communion with a Spirit of the other world?" “Who can it be?" "What can be the purport of the visit?" Such questions occurred to me mentally. 

    Oh! With what eager expectancy did I wish for the moment to solve their mysteries!  Thus some minutes passed, all around me being silent as death, as I waited with an intense uneasy suspense.  At length, as though coming from a distant field, I heard the sweet, playful notes of the shepherds, pipe, faint and low at first, then increasing in strength, as they seemed to approach me. 

    This music, I allowed to be, an announcement that my spiritual visitor was approaching me.  As the first sounds of the pipe impressed me, all the powers of my mind and soul seemed instantly to concentrate themselves, and suspend their connection with my body.  Still I heard the music, and I then became convinced, that I did not hear it through the medium of bodily ears, At length the music ceased; when a voice the same as I before had heard called me by name.

    "Who calls me?" I inquired mentally, with considerable trepidation. I am the spirit of one, who, like you in nature, once inhabited the earth as mortal man, far back in the history of nations," answered the voice, in a grave manly tone.
    "Make known your name and prove your identity, and then communicate your wishes,," I replied, with a little more assurance; for I thought it prudent to know in the commencement, with whom I was communicating.
    “Here are two spirits present," answered the voice," the one that addresses you is Saul of Tarsus; or better known to the inhabitants of earth as Paul the Apostle.  My companion is Judas Iscariot; I presume you have read of us both, in that book called the New Testament.  If so, I beg of you not to form any idea of us from that book, for it does not contain an item of truth relating to our true character or history.

     That book, which received its origin through my influence speaks of me as being one of the best, purest, noblest and most pious mortals that ever lived; and my companion, Judas, as one of the worst that possibly could be.  The fact is, if you were to reverse the characters given of us in that book, you would come nearer the truth.  It is true, that Judas was a selfish man; and that he was guilty of ingratitude and cruelty in betraying the good man, Jesus of Nazareth, to Sanhedrim; but however heinous his offense may be to you, it will admit of extenuation, when the truth is known.  It was I friend Alexander, who was the plotter and instigator of that horrid tragedy-, the death of Jesus.

    Judas Iscariot was in my power; he acted at my suggestion, and did my bidding; he received the opprobrium of the evil deed, while I, the true actor, escaped with impunity. But that black deed was only one item of the many black crimes of which I was guilty during my career of pious hypocrisy while on earth.  The facts of which, I intend to bring to your notice; in so doing, I shall prove my identity, for no man or spirit can unravel my wicked career, excepting myself."

         "How shall I know or believe, what you say to me to be truth?" I inquired of the spirit, "since you have given yourself so bad a character?"
    To be continued

    Andrew Jackson Davis born August 11,1826 is known as a forerunner to Modem Spiritualism.
    I want to call your attention to the fly buzz that Mr. Smyth tells about.  This has been experienced by others the first that I want to mention is Emily Dickinson in her poem Dying where she tell about the fly.

    Dying

             I heard a fly buzz when I died;
    The stillness round my form
    Was like the stillness in the air
    Between the heaves of storm.

                 The eyes beside had wrung them dry,
          And breaths were gathering sure
         For that last onset, when the king
    Be witnessed in his power.

             I willed my keepsakes, signed away
    What portion of me I
         Could make assignable,- and then
    There interposed a fly,

    With blue, uncertain, stumbling buzz,
    Between the light and me;
    And then the windows failed, and then
    I could not see to see.

    In ECKANKAR Ancient Wisdom for Today we have this.
    The Etheric Plane
    Marking the border between the lower and higher worlds of Divine Spirit is the Etheric Plane.  This is the source of our subconscious, and primitive thoughts.  The Dayaka Temple of Golden Wisdom is Located here in the city of Arhirit, and the guardian of the Shariyat- Ki-Sugmad is Lai Tsi.  You can recognize the Etheric Plane by the sound of the buzzing bees. 

    As you unfold spiritually, you'll travel through the various God Worlds of ECK.  This journey will be a unique experience because we are all individuals, each at a different point in our unfoldment.
    Sometime ago a young medium told me that she hears what seem like a fly buzz when she leaves her body and more often when she returns to her body.  This happened before I became aware of the phenomenon.  This buzzing may be caused by the discharge of an electrical charge.

    Smyth 2

    "Friend Alexander” said another spiritual voice, which I judged to be Judas Iscariot, "you may believe what my friend Saul says to you, for he is quite a different personage to what he was when on earth.  It is true, that then, he was one of the worst men, as a hypocrite, liar, defrauder and murderer. I also, was not the most innocent and harmless of men.. But since then there has been a great lapse of time; thousands of worlds have been brought into existence, and thousands destroyed.  In everything on earth, and in the Spirit World, as well, great changes have been produced for the better; therefore you must not be surprised that Saul and Judas are no longer what they once were.  Indeed, friend Alexander, we are spirits of a much-improved nature, since we acted our wicked parts upon the earth.  We have had nearly eighteen centuries of isolation and separation from the harmonious society of the Spirit World. Which time we have passed in fasting, repining, remorse and repentance, endeavoring to purge ourselves from the wickedness of our mortal lives, and to render ourselves capable of entering upon our spiritual career. I must inform you that we have not struggled in vain. There is but one other task we have to achieve before we shall be entitled to take our positions among the exalted.  My companion, Saul, will inform you what that is."
    "What is the purport of your communications I inquired of the Spirits.
    "My friend, for so I must consider you, as I will explain presently," responded the Spirit Saul. "Judas has informed you that we have passed many centuries, in a state of isolation, and separation from the happy spirits of this world, which became a necessity, self-in- flicked punishment, before we could become worthy of mingling in social harmony with other Spirits.  You can have no idea of the nature and extent of the punishment we have undergone. No hell that ever was invented by earthly priests can equal it in severity; yet, there is no hell or torture inflicted in the Spirit World.  Every Spirit that comes here brings the means of his punishment with him in his own nature, which is the stings of his evil conscience.  When a Spirit passes from the earth to this world, every trait of his nature, habits, principles and passions are delineated on his spiritual features; so that lies and deceptions are totally useless here. The Spirits are examined as they come, and then placed in society and positions, corresponding to their natures, which they possessed in their earthly life. When I made my appearance, after being killed by Nero's order. All the Spirits who saw me were startled with horror; when they discovered the many traits of my wicked nature no society would receive me, all fled from me with loathing. At length, I was driven to a solitary desert spot, on the outskirts of the lowest sphere: there to so remain until my evil nature had consumed itself in sorrow, remorse, wailing's, and a deprivation of that celestial pabulum which constitutes the food of the Spirits in this world.  I was cut off from all noble and intelligent society, cut off from the good and happy; all was gloom and barrenness around me.  The light, heat and glory of God did not penetrate my wretched locality; the stings of my conscience and memory, with the hunger of my spiritual body, became so intense, that I wished to be annihilated.  But I could not die.
         Oh the agony of ceaseless hunger is greater than all the other sufferings that can be endured!  As Judas was my confidant and agent on the earth, he knew all my iniquities and wicked designs; he served me with great zeal in the execution of my conspiracy against the good man, Jesus.  I was therefore in the power of Judas in that respect; I was afraid that he might expose my crimes to the world, to prevent which; I rewarded his faithful, though sinful services, by taking his life.  When I passed into the Spirit World, I found that Judas, by the decree of our spiritual superiors, was to be my only companion during the long term of my spiritual exile and purification. Judge then, if you can, the reception I met with from him, when we met at the cheerless spot assigned us.  With all the rancor, hate and vindictiveness that it is possible for a wicked Spirit to possess, Judas assailed me. All my blackest deeds he continually brought to my remembrance; all my frauds, hypocrisies and meanness, he used as so many venomous stings to wound my agonizing and remorseful conscience.  I endeavored to retort in a similar manner; but he was invulnerable to my less powerful attacks while I continually suffered under his lashes.  Oh!  My Friend Alexander, mankind need not think that there is a hell in the Spirit World to punish the wicked; for the wicked will carry with them hells sufficiently poignant to punish them for their misdeeds. 
         So it was with Judas and me from our remorse our mutual recrimination, our ceaseless hunger, and our hopeless state; our immortal states were most horribly wretched.  This miserable state continued from year to year, from age to age, and century to century, until the blackness of our hearts, and the turpitude of our minds, were gradually consumed by our anguish.  After the lapse of more than seventeen centuries, the Powers above us, who regulate our spiritual conditions, relieved us from our dreary and painful exile.  Finding us penitent, humble and completely changed for the better, they received us into the society of the Spirits and ameliorated our condition, by which we could receive comforts and continue to improve ourselves.  We rapidly improved; suavity, serenity and tranquil enjoyments, succeeded to our bitterness of nature.  A love of truth and justice, and a desire to do what is right, succeeded to our past evil proclivities.  A great thirst for knowledge possessed us; for we found that all, who aspired to a higher condition, must render themselves capable, by knowledge of all things. Thus nearly another century passed on, in course of which, we have so improved in our natures, that we are the very opposite of our former selves. We are now promised to be exalted to a higher sphere, after we shall have accomplished a certain task, which is the cause or motive we have, in communicating with you."
         "What may be the nature of that task, and how related to me?  I inquired of the Spirits. "We are requested," answered the Spirit Saul, " as an act of atonement for our past wicked deeds, for the benefit of mankind, that we should descend to the earth, and seek out a man to act as our agent and confessor.  To him, make known our misdeeds, as connected with the conspiracy and death of Jesus of Nazareth.  To make known to the world,, the true history of that good man, who was the victim of our wickedness, to disabuse the world of the lies, errors and follies to which they render their faith and homage.  Such is the task we have to perform before we are admitted to a higher sphere of exaltation. The first step we have taken, is to select you, Alexander, to be our medium and agent, through which we will publish to the world the important truths which we have to make known" "Why have you selected me to be your medium and agent on earth?  I inquired of Saul; being desirous to know his motive in so doing. "Could you not find a man more befitting the office than I? I have no influence or wealth to aid me in doing your bidding, even should I be enabled to furnish the talent and opportunity." " It matters not," responded Saul; "you are the one selected, and you must comply.  However, I have not any objections to acquaint you in part with the reasons why you are selected.  If I were to tell you all the reasons, they possibly might make you vain, which I do not wish to do.  When our Spiritual Powers imposed upon us the task, they requested that the man we should select for our medium should be one who had lived half a century at least, and that he should profess certain qualities, which I will not name.  To these conditions we were obliged to give our assent, if we wished to achieve our own object in view, though we knew it would be very difficult to find such a man. However, we descended to the earth to look for our man; but after several years wandering and searching, we found all our efforts to be in vain, for such a man was not to be found. We found many that were represented to be such as we wanted but after minutely investigating their private characters, we found them lacking in the main qualities.  We therefore gave up the search as a hopeless affair. Sometime afterward, Judas and I were holding a consultation as to what we should do, when, casting our eyes below upon the mundane scene, we beheld a little boy reading his Bible to his mother, while she worked with her needle in her chair. Something in the physiognomy of the boy excited our curiosity, so that we drew near.  As the boy read, the subject seem to shock his sense of truth; for he left off reading and asked his mother if that which he read was true.  The mother felt shocked that her child seemed to doubt what she considered to be the word of God.  She accordingly, told the child that it was true.  The boy with great energy, replied, 'mother, I can not believe it'. 'That is a noble boy' I observed to Judas; "his love and just sense of truth prevents him giving credence to the fables and lies of that old book; though his fond mother tells him it is truth itself'. "Saul", said Judas to me, with sudden vivacity, "an idea strikes me, by which we may accomplish our object. Suppose we were to take that little boy under our guardian care, screen him from all harm, and direct his mind in all matters necessary and good; protecting him until he shall arrive at fifty years of age, then we can make him our medium and agent.  I thought the plan of Judas to be an excellent one; accordingly we took the boy under tutelary care. That little boy, Friend Alexander, was yourself." "Ah" I exclaimed, and said, "I do remember the incident, and I was then about nine years of age. I was in the daily practice of reading the Bible to my mother at her request; I remember the chapter and verse, and from that day, I doubted the truth of the old book. But tell me, Saul; have you and Judas been my Guardian Spirits ever since?" We have," replied Saul; " and we have done you many services, unknown to you. We have saved your life several times. Once when you were a boy, you were in a tree on one of the highest branches, trying to steal a bird's nest, when the limb gave way; you fell, and certainly would have lost your life had I not saved you.  When you were a young man, you traveled in France, where we guided you though many dangers.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *